An experience at Mid Night in Mumbai –Part 2


You can read Part 1 of story here

**So what happened to three of us? What happened to Amit? What happened to the bike? To know these watch out for part 2 of this story.

After that initial discussion, we three started walking back towards Govandi police station discussing about Amit’s other incidents. My roomie (Rameez) was the source of the below facts:

  • Amit has been caught once on Marine drive travelling, as usual without licence. Police has taken him into the van and made 2-3 rounds for 2hrs and then left him with a warning.
  • Next time, Amit was caught in Bandra and was done away with Rs.100/- fine.

After listening to these incidents, I was pretty sure that he would get away with little punishment this time also. As we went towards station, there comes Amit on his Wind Bike with the speed of the wind. We were shocked to see him return so fast. The conversation went like this:

Me: Kya hua? Kya kiya tere saath?

Amit: Kuch nahi. Chod diya

Me: Wo toh pata hai. Lekin kiya kya tere saath?

Amit: Wahi toh bol raha hu. Kuch nahi kiya, No fine or no punishment.

Me: I can’t believe this. What exactly happened?

Amit: Are zyaada serious nahi. I know many of police officers near by. They used to come to my hospital for getting medical certificate for taking sick leave. I used to make sure that all of them get tea whenever they used to come there. Due to this I know many of the police officers names. So, I told that constable one of the officers names and by chance that appears to be his supervisor. He got afraid and left me without taking any fine or bribe.

So that’s what happened to Amit, his bike and three of us. The story does not end there friends. Once he came back, we started on our way to Lassi (our actual reason to roam at night). This time, only two people (Amit and my roomie) went on bike, me and Rameez walked. After walking half the distance, we came to know that Lassi shop is closed Sad smile. We were like, What the ****? We got disappointed and came back to our colony. We ate Sandwiches near our colony so as to compensate for our Lassi and to feel that we did eat something after all those efforts. There ends the story on that night. All this happened within a span of 40minutes. But it seemed like hours together as that was the first time I got involved with police. I thanked god when Rameez told that in other cities people will hit with lathis when they see more than two going on a bike. I thanked god as I was the one sitting at the back and got saved from lathis Smile.

P.S.: Next day, we again went to drink Lassi. But this time, we dint care about Amit’s confidence and went in local train. Result was the same: the shop was closed by the time we reached there.

P.P.S.: The next day, Rameez and two other friends of mine were travelling on bike. A constable stopped the bike and asked for licence. My friend has the licence and bike docs. The constable asked for Helmet and reason why three were travelling on one bike. Finally, my friend gave him Rs.100/- and left. That’s the irony of life friends.

No licence, no docs and four people on a bike => No fine

Licence, Docs and three people on a bike => Rs.100/- fine Smile

Past History

Events Calendar

March 2012
S M T W T F S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031